the BS stops here

...well I guess you really had to be there

A Little Music to Read By

Monday, November 13, 2006

Interview

Two days ago maybe three...i think it was saturday...it was, but that's not really important to my story. Well anyway i was leaving to go get some diner and just as i was leaving my place of residence on campus i was approached by a small group of what some might call emo kids....not the hardcore emo kid, but the ones who only are half committed to the emo ideal and just kinda dress that style because they think it's cool...what ever floats your boat you know...i'm just telling you this so that you can construct a more vivid image of these individuals in your head as you imagine this scene. So i walk out into the night and this group approaches me and a young lady possibly a year or two younger than myself, after some awkwardness (you know that thing people do when there is a group and there really isn't an assigned leader who is supposed to ask someone something and the group just kinda stands around and stares at one another and then you, and finally one of them gives in and asks you a question? well that s what happened), she asked me if i would be willing to answer a couple of questions that would be filmed and i said "you want to interview me" and she said "exactly" well actually she just nodded but i think this story needs a little more dialogue so i added it i hope she doesn't mind. They set up the camera which took fiveminutes or so which was slightly aggrevating because i was really hungry an it had been a really long day and then they positioned me in front of the camera an then had to test the sound and the lighting (i thought i might be on some kind of crappy housing association version of candid camera which it wasn't). They finally got everything squared away and i stood there and she asked me " What affects, if any, do you think explicit lyrics have on you" and immediatly i thought -typical emo kids trying to qualify explicit lyrics to some authority figure come on try to be a little less predictable. i know i stereotype, people always say stereotyping is bad, but just because you're predictable doesn't mean you're a bad person....some very good people are completely predictable...it just happens. So i thought about it for a minute, i mean they can't expect me to answer such a loaded question without thinking about it for a minute.....this had to look awkward on film because its just me kinda staring with a blank face at the camera and then i said this (as a side note when you are imagining this in your head the me in your head has to say this as non-ghetto as possible....if you have trouble with this...everyword or phrase that comes directly from a rap or hip hop song or whatever they call it now i say very slowly and with extreme annunciation) "well you know when i'm up in dat club i always hit up bitches and usually pop caps in pigs and other animals aight you know what i'm sayin and you'se know i have been riding dirty for a year or two know so if that in any way would count as an affect of explicit lyrics, then yes" they all just kinda looked at me and i looked around like "well is it over", the group stood there like they weren't sure if they were supposed to laugh or if i was serious and apparently that was the only question they had for me because the girl (the same one who asked me to begin with) said thanks and then i left.....which was good for me because i was starving (well not really) and i wanted a burrito really bad. I really hope they kept my interview...maybe they could put it in with the credits at the end or something. Anyway i just thought the two of you who actually read this e-muse would enjoy it and i challenge you to do something unexpected in the future....defy stereotypes...it makes life so much more exciting well maybe not exciting but it creates a moment where the people around aren't able to respond to you because they cannot create a response to your action or statement without connecting you to the idea they have of you in there mind....over time this obvioulsy changes but initially it really catches people off guard and boy is it fulfilling.

Peace homies, one love and catch you on the flip,
The BS out

Monday, November 06, 2006

Sitting on a Brick Wall

I wrote this last week

Let me set my scene. Afternoon. It’s a beautiful day. It doesn’t matter what day it is. This is mostly because I can’t remember what day it was. Its one of those days that isn’t too hot and isn’t too cold. It’s not really cloudy but cloudy enough to keep you from complaining about how bright the sun is. It’s fall. It’s one of those fall days that you will remember in the future as a distinctly fall day. There is a brick wall. Its not a very big brick wall. Its small enough that when I sit on it my knees come up awkwardly too close to my chest.... so I stretch them out . I really wish I had a bench to sit on, but I guess this brick wall will do. My shoe is untied. Crap I wore two different colored socks....oh well who looks at socks anyways.
A landscaper makes his way along the walkway in front of me. He’s carrying a leaf blower. Oh did I forget to mention it is fall and there are leaves everywhere. These little yellow crunchy leaves. He looks like he should get out more often. Hey buddy you just passed a bunch of leaves aren’t you carrying that blower for a reason...oh there he goes. And then off again. Oh I see...too nice of a day to do any actual work...lazy. Well I guess I’d do the same thing if I were you. And I’d probably lose some weight too. That was mean. Those are goofy boots. Where do you even get boots like that? Stop it right now. He’s probably a very nice man. Look at you. You can’t even match your socks..yeah but that’s different nobody can see my socks. I wonder what his name is. I know its not really very important that I know his name. What if it was Dr. Rick Forrester. What would a doctor be doing blowing leaves. Why do doctors even get to be formally called doctor? Or Private Investigators get the distinction of being Rick Forrester P.I. Why can’t people all be recognized by what they do in their names? Like Leaf Blower Rick Forrester or how about Rick Forrester LB? I like that. What would my abbreviation be WS wall sitter? What time is it. I don’t have a watch. I’ve never had a watch. I don’t know why I do that. Well this is nice. I think I know that girl. Maybe not...I wish I did. Alright look around like you didn’t see her. Okay waiting, waiting, waiting.....I wonder where she is going. That’s not cliche. People always say things like that when they are alone...wonder where people are going and what they’re doing in life..they feel like they need to assign some meaning to everyone. What if she’s not going anywhere. What if she’s just walking for the sake of walking. She only going nowhere because she doesn’t have somewhere else to go. She picks up her cell phone out of her purse. Is she actually talking to anyone. If she’s going nowhere isn’t it reasonable to assume she’s talking to no one? I hope for her sake someone actually is talking to her or at least she thinks she’s talking to someone.
I feel lonely, but not that kind of sad depressed lonely, its just I feel very alone. I guess it would be kinda awkward if someone were to join me and just sit here...well not if it were that girl. Who am I kidding I have nothing to say to her. Hey I’m so and so and you are? Oh so and so, well nice to meet you so and so. Come here often? Yeah I like to waste my life sitting on small brick walls in the middle of the afternoon too. I guess we have something in common.....do you happen to, by chance, have two different colored socks on. Wow I think we were made to be together............... You’re ridiculous. And stretch...mmm that felt good. I really need to find something to do. Just relax sit back and take a minute to collect yourself. You know you’re not going to go do anything else. If you have to take a whole hour or maybe two.....well maybe not that long your butts bound to fall asleep at some point. I wish I had an Ipod. Well maybe not. It seems like those things just make people so impersonal and cell phones too. People just walk around talking into them or with their heads down listening to music. It totally cuts them off from the rest of the world. From other people. Its sad when people are better acquainted with their ipod then they are with their own friends. And texting. Could it be any more impersonal. Its annoying people try to talk to you and text someone at the same time. Its rude really. If what I’m saying isn’t important enough to you then maybe we should just try this again some other time Yeah it is convenient but pretty soon actually talking person to person will be completely cut out.. We’ll communicate through brain waves and people won’t ever have to make a sound again.....what will happen to emotion. Will people cry in their minds......Maybe I’m just jealous. My phone buzzes in my pocket and I take it out and look at it. Screw you, you’re probably talking to someone right now aren’t you and you aren’t interested enough in what they’re saying...why am I any better than they are. All you have to ask is "What’s going on" would you believe me if I told you I was sitting on a brick wall thinking about how rude you are...I put the phone back in my pocket and sit squinting slightly for a few moments....well there’s no sense in just leaving them hanging, now what’s something witty I can say back...for me there is always pressure to say something witty..its like I say one witty thing and if everything I say after that doesn’t exhibit some kind of wit people think I’m depressed or mad or something well did you ever think that maybe I’m just not in the mood to be witty...you’re probably just asking me what’s going on so that I respond with something witty that makes you laugh...you’re taking advantage of me. Not Cool man. I put my phone away again.
There’s that girl again. She walks past we share one of those "we caught each other looking at one another so we smile so its not so awkward" moments. She really is kinda cute. Maybe if she comes by again I could ask her name and maybe out on a date. Yeah I think I could do that. Would she think that would be weird though? She probably already thinks you’re strange...you’re sitting on a wall by yourself in the middle of the afternoon. But she’s weird too. She’s walking around going nowhere and talking to no one. That’d be a good couple. The wall sitter and the aimless walker. I wish I could have seen her eyes better. I love eyes. Well I mean when they are properly set in a woman’s face. That part in temple of doom where they have eye ball soup- that creeps me out. What kind of eyes were those? You’re getting off topic here. I bet that girl has great eyes. Those kind of eyes that sparkle in the sunlight and seem to make her smile just that much more beautiful and even when you’re angry she can just stare you in the eyes and the soft hazel glow dotted with small yellow and red specks just calms you. "and all that’s best of dark and bright meet in her aspect and her eyes" thats from a poem I think.....She walks in Beauty maybe.....well whatever it is its true. I wish she’d come back.. Well I think I’ve wasted enough time for today.